My name is Sushmita (name changed). I am from Odisha state of India. My parents got separated and therefore, I lived with my aunt. I have a sister who is presently living with my father at our home in Odisha. My village is a small village with 40 houses.

My family rejected me because I was girl child.  My family went through financial problems because we are very poor. I was often sick as I had health problems. My mother became mentally ill, after my father and mother got divorced. 

I wanted to learn life-skills. One of my friends informed me about STEP. I joined the program in 2017. I have the privilege to be part of the program and learn sewing and computer skills. I had never touched computer in my life. It is for the first time, I saw computer in STEP. I feel proud that STEP Center taught me skills that I will use for whole life. 


My name is Kajal (name changed). I am from West Bengal state of India. I belong to a tribal group called “Santali”. Mostly this community group lives in Odisha, West Bengal, Assam and Jharkhand states of India. My family lives in a small village with about 50 houses. 

I had a desire to learn sewing skills. In 2017, I came to know about Life Skill program in STEP. I was excited about the training program. In STEP, I am receiving guidance in every area of my life which I had never received at home. I am learning to be disciplined in every way possible. I have the opportunity to learn sewing and computer. After the training, I want to continue to work in the society who are struggling and need help. I thank STEP for the opportunity to learn skills. I feel confident and strong after the training program.  


My name is Rekha (name changed). I am now 5 years old and my birthday is January 19. Blue is my favorite color. I love to eat mango and chocolates. I live with my parents and a younger sister in a small village in the state of Odisha. We live in a small thatched house made out of mud with trees around it that give shade and protect us from the heat when the weather is hot and humid.  We own a small piece of land. My father cultivates and works every day in that field to produce rice and vegetables. We survive on the grains and vegetables that our field produces and fully depend on its produce.   When the rain is scarce and the land becomes dry, it makes it difficult to grow and produce crops and we have to struggle to survive.  Sometimes my parents have to try and find ways to earn some money in order to feed us, which is not easy.

I enjoy going to school and love all its activities, learning how to read and write and experiencing many new things. I like drawing and coloring pictures. I would like to become a doctor when I grow up.


My name is Subhajeet (name changed). My birthday is August 20. I am 5 years old. I like to eat noodles and biscuits. I am a student in Imagine School. My favorite color is green.  I am from a poor family and I am the only child. I live with my parents in a small mud house in a village in the state of Odisha.  My father is a manual laborer and my mother is a housewife. As the only bread earner of the family, my father has to work hard every day in order to support our family. Sometimes my father is not able to work and we face a financial crisis which makes our life difficult. At home, we eat meals of rice, Chapatti with Dal curry and puffed rice prepared by my mother.

What Imagine School is like for me – I love going to school every day and enjoy all the activities. In school I get to learn how to read and write in English. I also love drawing and coloring. I enjoy playing in the school playground with friends. I feel very fortunate to be able to go to school and receive education.  When I grow up, I would like to become a police officer.   

J. Tudu

My name is J. Tudu (name changed). I love to eat cakes and my birthday is May 5. I am a student in Imagine School and my favorite color is green.  I live in a small village in Odisha with my parents. My village has about 30 houses. There are no shops or hospitals nearby which makes our lives very difficult.  My father is a farmer and my mother is a housewife. We own a small rice paddy field and my father toils in it every day in order to feed us. Our life fully depends on the field, so when there is no rain and the land becomes dry and fails to produce crops, or when my father is unable to sell the grains produced from the land, we face a financial crisis in the family. But somehow, my parents manage to feed us rice/Roti and dal curry every day.

What Imagine school is like for me – I enjoy going to school every day and learn how to read and write and play with my friends at school.  I like to play with toys and drawing and coloring. My parents have great hope that as I study and grow up, I will have a bright future and bring a good name to the family.